Charlotte's Controller

Knights of the Realm

Just an idea, Nights of the realm always get an Obit, they have a history, it is a limited population and the research could be enlightening. Anyone interested?

What would the rules be?

I'm new to this but I would like to see a mix of political, entertainers, business, sports and forces represented. Jokers allowed, as many of them will be, a decent time for research and an order based result points scoring system 25 points down 25 to 1, joker double points. 25 persons (Knights and Dames) so as to be politically correct, five from each of the categories. This is a starting point any suggestions welcome.

When you thinking of starting it?

Well I am in.Sounds a good idea.

Excellent.

I've been doing a bit of research I think it will be limited to British. Final rules to be posted after Easter, until then a chance to do some research.

Why limit it to British?  <crosses Bob Geldof off list>

Too many people have been given titles with little merit, the foreign ones have many designations and people have collected them a bit like olympic pins.

On 4/11/2017 at 09:40, Charlotte's Controller said:

Too many people have been given titles with little merit, the foreign ones have many designations and people have collected them a bit like olympic pins.

Well, that's where obits come into play, surely? I struggle to see how someone like Dame Kiri te Kanawa, Sir Everton Weekes or Sir Colin Meads wouldn't be appropriate for a Knights of the Realm thing. They'd probably all obit in the UK as well as their homelands. 

• Like 1

On 10/04/2017 at 22:40, Charlotte's Controller said:

I'd say that goes for some of the British ones too.

12 minutes ago, Toast said:

I'd say that goes for some of the British ones too.

Sir Lynton Crosby, for servicing David Cameron

Sir Eric Pickles, for service to the Sontarans

Sir Gerald Kaufman

Sir Danny Alexander

Can't think what you mean...

On 4/10/2017 at 14:40, Charlotte's Controller said: